Deacons & Elders

Pacific Palisades Presbyterian Board of Deacons

Our Deacons participate in a ministry of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ. They promote a ministry of caring within our church and respond to food, shelter, and other needs of people in our congregation. Each Deacon is assigned a flock of members and every Palisades Presbyterian member has an assigned Deacon. Each Deacon is responsible for keeping in contact with and caring for his/her flock of members.

Deacons are elected by the congregation and they elect their own Moderator. Our Deacons are also available at times of bereavement to stay with the family in our chapel and to be available as needed.

Our Deacon Pastoral liaison for the Deacons is Reverend Grace Park.


2017 Board of Deacons:

Moderator: Janice Larson

Treasurer:  Margaret Keene

Communion Preparation:  Vivian Chen

Memorials: Pastor Grace



Margaret Keene, Sally Munro


Lora Caldwell, Karen Goldberg, Mary Hagerth, Shelley Long, Maggie Mann, Keith Nadel


Vivian Chen, Jan Gong, Janice Larson, Margaret Knowlton, Susan Blake, Lyla Corrales


Deacon/Partners 2017                                                Flocks

Jan Larson                                                 Moderator

Lora Caldwell & Shelley Long                                       Adams – Calfas

Keith Nadel & Lyla Corrales                                          Camden – Finck

Sally Munro & Susan Blake                                           Fintzy – Hill, K.

Mary Hagerth & Susan Blake                                        Hirsch – Larsen C.

Jan Gong & Karen Goldberg                                          Larson, C. – Owens R.

Vivian Chen, Margaret Knowlton                                   Palladino – Sturmer

Jan Larson & Margaret Keene                                       Sussen – Zeller

Pacific Palisades Presbyterian Elders

Elders are responsible for the day-to-day operations of the church. Together with our ministers, they exercise leadership, government, and discipline. They serve faithfully as members of the session. It is the duty of elders, individually and jointly, to strengthen and nurture the faith and life of the congregation committed to their charge. Those duties which all Christians are bound to perform by the law of love are especially incumbent upon elders because of their calling to office and are to be fulfilled by them as official responsibilities.

Class of 2017

  • Lynn Anderson
  • Nancy Gillette
  • Chuck Larsen
  • Bill Moran
  • Marti Sadowski

Class of 2018

  • Lynn Mack Costello
  • Brad Bose
  • Cynthia Block

Class of 2019

  • Kirsten Ellis
  • Tom Keene
  • Jim Paladino
  • Bill Walker

Committee Heads

Brad Bose and Kirsten Ellis – Youth
Lynn Mack Costello and Lynn Anderson – Personnel
Cynthia Block and Jim Palladino – Worship
Nancy Gillette – Adult Education
Bill Moran – Buildings and Grounds
Bill Walker  – Mission and Outreach
Chuck Larsen and Tom Keene – Finance Committee

Lynn Anderson and Marti Sadowski – Administration Support/Communications/Social Media

Marti Sadowski – Fellowship/New Member/Outreach

– Fundraising/Stewardship

Nominating Committee

Elders:  Chuck Larson, Jim Paladino, Harvey Mednick (alternate)

Deacon:  Lyla Corrales

Members:   Pat Moran, Amy Berggreen, Carole Pernin, Scottie Dealey